Sunday, February 13, 2011

Eric Willett and Janna Weatherby take slopestyle finals at Winter Dew Tour Championships

The third and final stop of the 2010-11 Winter Dew Tour went down under sunny skies at Snowbasin today and was capped off with banger slopestyle finals. The setup was looking better than ever and the riders were putting it all on the table with the finals stock full of double cork spins.

With the tour leader, Torstein Horgmo, dropping last for the second run, the competition was kicked up a notch. Eric Willett slayed the course and stomped everything with style - nailing a solid switch back 12 double cork to front 10 double cork to score a 97.25. That immediately threw him to the top spot and it was a chase after Willett from there on out. Mark McMorris also pulled out a killer run to place second with spins and gaps on the jibs paired with a double cork 10 and 12. It seems as though the 1260 is the new method - everyone's got their own.

Last to attack the slopestyle course was your favorite Norwegian, Torstein Horgmo. Sitting in tenth place prior to his second run, his work was undoubtedly cut out for him but he delivered as usual. Horgmo had style and variation however, had a few slip ups that couldn't get him the number one spot, finishing up in the third place position. What's third place when you're the Dew Tour champ, though? He scored enough points to secure his title and he was stoked.

On the ladies side, 34-year-old veteran competitor Janna Weatherby earned a 96.00 knocking out the young guns that have been dominating. Her winning run was polished with a cab 540, backside 3, and numerous 50-50s on the rails. Dew Tour leader and slopestyle buff Jamie Anderson came in close behind Weatherby with a 95.00 which ultimately held her lead and won her second consecutive Winter Dew Tour Slopestyle Champ title. Third place went to Canadian Spencer O'Brien who was riding well the entire contest with a 91.75.

This concluding Dew Tour event without a doubt showcased the impressive level of riding that the competitors are at and also how massive the pool of talent actually is. Congratulations to the winners - see you next year.

No comments:

Post a Comment